Dr. Flynn poses for a photo with honorees

Alvernia University held it's annual Honors Convocation on Sunday, April 14, 2019, at the Physical Education Center.


Ceremony speakers included longtime Alvernia President Thomas F. Flynn and 2019 Senior Scholar Hayley Haggerty.


The following Alvernia University students and faculty received awards for academic achievement and service to the community:


University Awards




Sr. Donatilla Faculty Award

Cynthia Rothenberger


Teaching Excellence Award

Tracy F. Scheirer


Faculty for Exemplary Service Towards Real-World Learning

Greg Chown


Saint Bernardine Faculty Award – College or Professional Programs

Elizabeth Bentz


Saint Bernardine Faculty Award – College of Arts & Sciences

John Heilenman


Saint Bernardine Faculty Award – School of Graduate and Adult Education

Corey Jones



The Franciscan Peace and Justice Award

Shauna Redanauer


Senior Scholar

Eden Lawson


Honors Programs

The Alvernia University Honors Program

Paige Fellows

Lauren Gough

Tayler Gough

Eric Moran

Nicole Rosati

Marisa Schutz

Megan Vane


Holleran Center for Community & Global Engagement

Graduation Award for Excellence in Service (300 hrs)

Taylor Fouracre

Elizabeth Goida

Rachel Loar

Julia Malpass

Shauna Redanauer

Rosene Ringler

Melisa Rivera


Holleran Center Community Engagement Award (500 hrs)

Courtney Dumais

Emily Gargiulo

Breanna Roland

Margaret Mejia


Holleran Center Outstanding Service Award

Hannah Watt


Newman Civic Fellow Award

Victoria Cerulli


Boscov Reading Collegiate Scholar Award

Sarah Verneret


O’Pake Institute for Ethics, Leadership and Public Service

O’Pake Graduate Fellowship in Leadership

James Elliker

Natalie Martin


O’Pake Undergraduate Fellowship in Leadership

Lauren Callueng

Jordan Kissner

Shauna Redanauer

Michael Tierney


Athletic Awards

Outstanding Scholar-Athlete Award 

Matthew Junio

Anne Rose


College of Arts & Sciences

English & Communication

Alvernian Award for Editorial Leadership

Gwendalyn Bauer


Henry Miller Award: Sigma Tau Delta

Sarah Verneret


Margaret Oberholtzer Lawrence Award

Anisa Jackson


Fine and Performing Arts

Outstanding Student in Band Award

Steven Koenig


Outstanding Student in Chorus Award

Melisa Rivera



Outstanding Student in Humanities

Eric Moran


High Achievement in POS

Marisa Schutz


High Achievement in History

Amy Dundon


High Achievement in Theology

Eric Moran



Academic Excellence

Eric McKay


Leadership Award

Sara Rustemeyer


Science & Math


Sr. Alodia Award

Alexandra Stroia


American Chemical Society Award

Anasatasia Ahern


Elaine Schalck Outstanding Lab Assistant Award

Emilee Matz


Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award

Benjamin Koons


Outstanding Internship Award

Taylor Pychewicz

Ean Roche


College of Professional Programs Award


Allied Health & Human Services


Athletic Training Academic Excellence Award

Heather Wood


Dr. Phyllis Hay Research Award

Katrina Herber


Outstanding Social Work Academic Award

Becky Jones


Outstanding Behavioral Health Academic Award

James Secules


Healthcare Science Academic Excellence Award

Madison Sutter




ACBSP Student Leadership Award

Lauren Callueng


PA Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award

Kirstin Gonzaga


Institute of Management Accounts

Patrick Brennen


The Jennie J. Palkon, nee Lis and John S. Palkon Scholarship in Business Award

Alexis Roach


Excellence in Accounting

Jeremy Stalter


Excellence in Economics

Christian Smith


Excellence in Finance

Amanda Phillips


Excellence in Healthcare Administration

Kasey Maguire


Excellence in Management

Johanna Shank


Excellence in Marketing

Ashlynn Danner


Excellence in Sports Management

Tyler Klicka



Criminal Justice


Academic Excellence Award

Elizabeth Goida


Sr. Pacelli Award

Elizabeth Goida


Internship Award

Zahir Guess


Saint Michael the Archangel Award

Justin Guevarez




Outstanding Education Student

Rachael Saxon


Outstanding Student Teacher of the Year

Abraham Rivera-Moore


Emma Yoh Award of Outstanding Professionalism

Cari Middlecamp





Outstanding Clinical Performance Award

Miranda Hoover


Nursing Leadership Award

Kelsey Amos


Spirit of St. Francis Award

Shauna Redanauer


Nursing Excellence Award

Alisa Zakharov


The Jennie J. Palkon, nee Lis and John S. Palkon Scholarship in Nursing Award

Megan Vane


Leaders in Learning Award

Courtney Miller


Occupational Therapy


Health Science Academic Excellence Award

Rachel Loar


Health Science Clinical Excellence Award

Nicole Lopez


Health Science Service Award

Andrea Wysocki


School of Graduate & Adult Education


Academic Excellence Award – Doctor of Physical

Logan Focht


Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award

Todd Trupp


George Vogel Behavioral Health Academic Excellence Award

Leslie Crowell


Healthcare Science Academic Excellence

Shawna Wallace


Master in Business Administration Award of Excellence

Robert J. Kelly


Master of Arts in Clinical Counseling Award of Excellence

Jescia Bejean


Master of Arts in Leadership Award of Excellence

Rebekah Cineus


Master of Education Award of Excellence

Marco Marinaro


Master of Science in Nursing Leaders in Learning

Jocelyn Podjed


Master of Science in Nursing Spirit of Saint Francis Award

Maureen Spires


Master of Science in Occupational Therapy Academic Excellence Award

Danielle Yoder


Master of Science in Occupational Therapy Clinical Excellence Award

Ashley Strausbaugh


Ph.D. Leadership Award

Curtis R. Stevens


RN to BSN Completion Program Leaders in Learning Award

Holly Greene


RN to BSN Spirit of St. Francis Award (BSN)

Elissa Smith


Social Work Academic Award

Ann-Marie Stoudt