Alvernia students and faculty recognized


Photo: business student Edwin Torres and nursing student Shelby Hickox were the recipients of the new Jennie J. Palkon, nee Lis and John S. Palkon Scholarships.

More than 600 people attended the 2013 Honors Convocation ceremony at Alvernia University on Sunday, April 21, 2013. Awards were given by undergraduate academic departments and adult education. Major university awards were also conferred. >> See photos from the event.

Undergraduate Awards

Allied health & Human Services

Academic Excellence in Athletic Training: William George Gerber

Dr. Phyllis Hay Research Award: Elizabeth D. Fortuner

Outstanding Social Work Academic Award: Danielle Michaelena Motze

Outstanding Social Work Field Placement Award: Brooke E. Brossman

Paul J. Marr, MD Athletic Training Scholarship: Michelle Nicole Hermanns


ACBSP Student Leadership: Nathan Andrew Bauer

Excellence in Management: Timothy Robert Kershner

Excellence in Marketing: Zachary John Zima

Excellence in Sport Management: Miranda Jean Peto

Excellence in Business: Erin Elizabeth Solley

Institute of Management Accountants — Reading Chapter Award: Joseph Claude Heckman

Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award: Thomas Andrew Edwards

The Jennie J. Palkon, nee Lis and John S. Palkon Scholarship in Business Award: Edwin Torres

Criminal Justice

Academic Excellence Award: Maureen Elizabeth O’Buck

Internship Award: Thomas Kenneth Hall, V

 Sister Pacelli Award: Korbin John Spayd

St. Michael the Archangel Award: Jessica Ann Templin


Emma Yoh Award for Outstanding Professionalism: Allison L Endy

Outstanding Undergraduate Education Major: Courtney Nialyssa Harting

Outstanding Student Teacher Award: Kelli Ann Goshert 

English, Communication, and Computer & information Studies

Academic Excellence Award in CIS: Larry William Lendo, Jr.

Alvernian Award for Editorial Excellence: Danielle Michaelena Motze

Award for Student Leadership: Jennifer Lynne Kaucher

CIS Internship Excellence Award: Jessica Lee Sabulsky & Julia Rayne Perez

Henry Miller Award: Sigma Tau Delta: Megan Anne McCue

Margaret Oberholtzer Lawrence Award for Excellence: Courtney Nialyssa Harting

The Elizabeth Susman Award for Scholarship and Creativity: Rachel Michelle Krall


High Achievement Award & Outstanding Student in the Humanities: Brendon Thomas McGirr


Excellence in Community Health Nursing Award: Melanie Thuy Trinh Nguyen

Leaders in Learning Award: Victoria Elizabeth Beck & Oyewale Dale Akinrefon

Nursing Excellence Award: Victoria Elizabeth Beck

Nursing Leadership Award: Emily Cora Bieber

Outstanding Clinical Performance: Amanda Nicole Bodnar & J. Benjamin Eisenhauer

Spirit of St. Francis Award: Jessica Lynn Taylor & Engel A. Tagland, IV

The Jennie J. Palkon, nee Lis and John S. Palkon Scholarship in Nursing Award: Shelby Hickox

Psychology & Counseling

Academic Excellence Award: Leon Ishmael Geiger

Clinical Excellence Award: Brian K. Richardson

Leadership Award: Sinead Catherine Commane

Psi Chi Award: Kayla E. Morgan

Research Excellence Award: Victoria Lauren Morello

Science & Math

American Chemical Society Award: Daniel Thomas Kwasniewski

Frank Podczasy Award: Kaytlyn Elizabeth Degenhart & Tiana M. Bonventre

Sr. Alodia Outstanding Lab Assistant Award: Daniel Thomas Kwasniewski & Nicole Frances Fox-Mower


University Awards:

Franciscan Peace and Justice Award: Thomas Kenneth Hall, V

The Fromm Interfaith Award: Justin Padinske

Graduation Award for Excellence in Service: Colin John Goebel, Thomas Kenneth Hall, V, & Erin Elizabeth Solley

Holleran Center Outstanding Service Award: Erin Elizabeth Solley

Holleran Center Community Fellows: Jennifer Affleck, Leah Baer, Gina Dierolf, Christine Hall, Carl Hayes, Nicolas Hill, Stephanie Krier, Jessica Marchetti, David McDowell, Jennifer Mejia, Danielle Motze, Alyss Reinsel, Kevin Shainline, Courtney Strautz, Megan Wensel, Samatha Wilt, Courtney Wilson, Ashley Winters, & Emiley Witman

Holleran Center Award for Excellence in Service: Alexandra Aloia, Alyssa Demarco, Harlee Ehrets, Ashley Frankhouser, Casey Green, Brandi Loga, Brooke Merkel, Justin Padinske, Kenneth Reiter, Kevin Shainline, Kacie Tokarski, Nicole Truax, & Rachel Urick

Outstanding Scholar Athletes: William George Gerber & Erin Elizabeth Solley 

Senior Scholar Award: Alexandra Aloia

Alvernia Honors Program Graduates: Francisco Orlando Contreras-Ovalles, Leah Elizabeth Della Croce, Ashley Marie Hertzog, Jennifer Lynne Kaucher, Jennifer Marie Kingman, Daniel Thomas Kwasniewski, Kirsten Marie Makowski, Megan Anne McCue, Brendon Thomas McGirr, Kayla E. Morgan, & Rachel Marie Mugford


Graduate and Adult Education Awards

Main Campus

Betty Ford Center Academic Award: Bernude Mezier & Paule E Bonhomette

Behavioral Health Studies Crusader Award: Robert Diaz & Jon Westley Tyrrell
Behavioral Health Studies Director’s Award: Kenneth Robert Reiter

Caron Treatment Centers Award of Excellence: Farah Abraham Fontaine

Founding Dean’s Award: Samaria Cabral

MCC Award of Excellence: Lori Lyn Yelk

MCC Clinical Advancement: Tarynn Ashleigh Meier & Kristin Elisa White

MCC Professional Counseling: Zoila D. Rosario

MSN Leaders in Learning: Heidi Ann McMullan

MSOT Award of Excellence: Ashley L. Dautrich, Rachel Lynn Partner, & Erin Justine Stone

Nursing Leaders in Learning Award: Ruth C. Benderoth & Kristin L. Miller

Nursing Spirit of St. Francis Award: Lucinda Lee Hinsey & Roxanne Michelle Kintzer

Outstanding Academic Achievement: Mark Francis Jurasinski

Outstanding Master of Business Administration: Shawn Michael Hinkle

Outstanding Master of Education Award: Laura Marie Ellis

Philadelphia Center

Academic Excellence and Civic Engagement: Carmela Barbara Watson

Behavioral Health Studies Director’s Award: Gloria Denise Maloney

Betty Ford Center Academic Award: Gloria Jeane Barnum

Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award: William D. Rachuba-Hortman

MCC Academic Excellence: LaTonya Lanette McCurry

Schuylkill Center

Outstanding Master of Business Administration: Ronald William Herbst, Jr.

Outstanding Master of Education Award: Jacklyn Victoria Marteslo

Schuylkill Center Direcor’s Award: Kristy Sieklicki


Faculty Awards

Lindback Foundation Award: Dolores Bertoti, MSPT

Sister Mary Donatilla Faculty Award: Peggy Bowen-Hartung, Ph.D., CTS

Faculty Award for Exemplary Service-Learning: Judith Warchal, Ph.D.

Twitter Logo


social icons

Information for: Parents & Family Alumni Faculty & Staff Current Students
Contact Us Directory Employment A-Z Index Tech Support Privacy Policy
© 2016 Alvernia University
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ YouTube RSS Feed Pinterest Instagram tumblr Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ RSS Feed