Honors Convocation

Alvernia University honored students and faculty during its annual Honors Convocation on Sunday, April 22, 2012. Speakers included faculty member Dr. Beth Berret (2011 Lindback Award recipient), and student Andrew Smolarski (2011 Senior Scholar). View photos of the event or see the full list of awardees below.



Allied health & Human Services
Academic Excellence in Athletic Training — Karen M. Hess
Addiction Studies Director’s Award —  Paige Linsey Carroll
Betty Ford Center Academic Award —  Lindsay Anne Krause
Caron Treatment Centers Award of Excellence — Samantha Marie Nagy
Dr. Phyllis Hay Research Award Anna — Pauline Arbolino, Sara Nicole Gimber, Danielle Anette Gordon
Outstanding Social Work Academic Award — Sara Nicole Gimber, Michelle A. Lesagonicz
Outstanding Social Work Field Placement Award — Danielle Anette Gordon 
Paul J. Marr, MD Athletic Training Scholarship Award —  Kristin Marie Mantle

ACBSP Student Leadership —  Brian Patrick Nerney
Excellence in Management —  Melanie Laura Kramer
Excellence in Marketing —  Brian Michael Horning
Excellence in Sport Management —  Tony Roegiers
Institute of Management Accountants Reading Chapter Award — Andrew Joseph Smolarski
Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award —  Vy Thi Tuong Nguyen

Criminal Justice
Academic Excellence Award — Ryan Hermany
Internship Award — Angela Marie Smith
Sister Pacelli Award — Sean Patrick Brett 
St. Michael the Archangel Award — Toby Michael Davis

Emma Yoh Award for Outstanding Professionalism — Jessica Joy Mendez
Outstanding Undergraduate Education Major — Jessica Joy Mendez
Outstanding Student Teacher Award —  Heather A. Shainline 

English, Communication, and Computer & information Studies
Academic Excellence Award in CIS —  Rourke Brian O’Donnell
Alvernian Award for Business Excellence —  Amber N. Archambault
Alvernian Award for Editorial Leadership —  Tesia Elise Smucker
Alvernian Award for Photographic Excellence —  Char’da DeShawn Willis
Award for Excellence in Video and Television Production —  Jared N. Kane
Award for Student Leadership —  Jessica L. Heller
Award for Student Leadership —  Maria Jacinta Locicero
Henry Miller Award: Sigma Tau Delta Michael — Andrew Wagner
Margaret Oberholtzer Lawrence Award for Excellence —  Michelle Lynn Lovato
The Elizabeth Susman Award for Scholarship and Creativity —  Carly Dyan Glasmyre

Fine & Performing Arts
Alvernia University Choral Award —  Natalie Ruth Greenawald Lawton
Alvernia University Instrumental Award —  Jessica L. Hardinger 
Frances J. Thomas Theatre Award — Rebecca A. Wisniewski

High Achievement in History —  Muriel Elisabeth Eshbach, Zachary Charles McDonough, Derrick Michael Rowe
High Achievement in Political Science —  Zachary Chales McDonough, Zachary Gregory Reber
High Achivement in Social Studies —  John Phillip Waldron
Outstanding Student in the Humanities — Zachary Gregory Reber, John Phillip Waldron

Excellence in Community Health Nursing Award — Yara Pascal
Leaders in Learning Award — Jeffrey Michael Helm, III
Nursing Excellence Award — Jade Elisabeth Pereira
Nursing Leadership Award — Angela Marie Ann Cook
Outstanding Clinical Performance — Elizabeth Marie Bakanowski, Vladislav D. Vdov
Spirit of St. Francis Award — Kaitlyn Jane Malyszko

Psychology & Counseling
Academic Excellence Award — Emily Catherine Kratz, Samantha Marie Nagy, Tonya Louise Rutt
Clinical Excellence Award — Paulette Jane Mae Dunkelberger, Katie Elizabeth Sterner
Leadership Award — Marissa Regina, De Lucia, Norka O. McCalmon, Samantha Marie Nagy
Research Excellence Award — Emily Catherine Kratz, Samantha Marie Nagy
Service Award — Danielle L. Cortés

Science & Math
American Chemical Society Award — Amanda Rose McGettigan
Frank Podczasy Award — Christopher James Altomare, Elizabeth Marie Osborn
Sr. Alodia Outstanding Lab Assistant Award — Amanda Rose McGettigan

Alvernia Honors Program Graduates
Carly Dyan Glasmyre, Ryan Hermany, Amanda Rose McGettigan, Samantha Marie Nagy, Elizabeth Marie Osborn, Emily Susan Ranck, Zachary Gregory Reber, Tony Roegiers, Angela Marie Smith, Andrew Joseph Smolarski, Michael Andrew Wagner

University Awards
Outstanding Scholar Athletes — Justin Levi, Arnt Katelyn Ann Eby 

Peace and Justice Award — Katherine Margaret Roesch

2012 Senior Scholar — Daniel Kwasneiski

Holleran Center Fellows
Nicholas Armour, Leah Baer, Danielle Cortez, Gina Dierolf, Screta Ford, Tatiana Foronda, Courtney Foster, Anne Kushlick, Jessica Marchetti, Jennifer Mejia, Alyss Reinsel, Kaytelin Rhody, Jessica Seyler, Kevin Shainline, Eric Soltysik, Samantha Wilt, Emiley Whitman



Main Campus
Academic Excellence and Civic Engagement — Jessica Rae Umbenhauer
ADA Director Award — Paige Linsey Carroll
Betty Ford Center Academic Award — Jill Ann Durofchalk, Lindsay Anne Krause
Behavioral Health Studies Crusader Award — Adele M. Dorsey
Behavioral Health Studies Director Award — Kathy L. Brooks
Caron Treatment Center Award — DorothyAnne LeFore, Samantha Marie Nagy
Educational Leadership Award — Eric Joseph Narkiewicz
Founding Dean’s Award — Danell J. Schoemaker
MCC Award of Excellence — Dianne A. Hefter, Janice Lynn Lawrence
MCC Clinical Advancement — Sara Tatiana Brojack, Andrea Lynne Shade
MCC Professional Counseling — Charles K. Huckstep
MSN Leaders in Learning — Chelsie Lynn Ober, Lorena M. Bickel
MSOT Award of Excellence — Katie Alice Deturk, Sarah Marie Shayka
Nursing Leaders in Learning Award — Jennifer Anne Davis
Nursing Spirit of St. Francis Award — Susan Lynne Wolfe, Teresa A. Mohler
Outstanding Academic Achievement — Leroy P. Merkel, Jr.
Outstanding Master of Business Administration Award — Charles Allen Clauser, Mark Joseph Kruse
Outstanding Master of Education Award — Karen Haitos
Thomas Nega, Jr. Award — Diossanta Robles

Philadelphia Center
Academic Excellence and Civic Engagement — Wanda Maria Press
Father Martin Ashley Academic Award — Janey Alexander
Criminal Justice Academic Excellence Award — Ta-Nisha DeAnn Barber
MCC Academic Excellence — Joanne G. Hernandez

Schuylkill Center
Director’s Award — Craig Edward Beck
Outstanding Student Teacher Award — Corey Matthew Shadle


Sr Donatilla Faculty Award — Dr. Deborah Greenawald
St. Bernardine Faculty Award (Graduate & Continuing Studies) — Dr. Carole Ney
St. Bernardine Faculty Award (Arts & Sciences) — Heidi Reuter
St. Bernardine Faculty Award (Professional Programs) — Robert Schurr
Faculty Service Learning Award — Michael Kramer

Twitter Logo


social icons

Information for: Parents & Family Alumni Faculty & Staff Current Students
Contact Us Directory Employment A-Z Index Tech Support Privacy Policy
© 2016 Alvernia University
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ YouTube RSS Feed Pinterest Instagram tumblr Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ RSS Feed