President's Newsletter March 2016

Faculty Excellence

Congratulations to Dr. Carrie Fitzpatrick who was elected president of Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, for 2016-2018. She also served as a judge for the Intellectual Freedom Challenge Essay Contest of the National English Honor Society for High Schools within the U.S.A. Carrie continues a tradition of leadership began by Beth De Meo who previously served as president of this organization. 

Drs. Spencer Stober and Alicia Sprow, joined by students Daisy Porrazzo and Robert Waller, presented ‘Nature Play as a Formative Experience in the Development of Nature-Centered Leaders” at the national Sustainability Conference in Portland. 

Drs. Scott Ballantyne, Mary Schreiner and Karen Thacker delivered a presentation about online course instruction at the National Academic Chairpersons Conference in Charleston, S.C.

Dr. Bongrae Seok has been elected vice president of the Association of Chinese Philosophers in North America. He also had an impressive three articles published in leading philosophy journals last semester.  Bongrae is one of our most distinguished and best-known scholars, currently finishing his two-year term as a Neag Professor. 

Dr. Peggy Bowen-Hartung evaluated proposals for grants for the U.S. Department of Justice Adam Walsh Act Implementation Solicitation.

Dr. Terry Adams received the 2015 Nursing Education Award from the Pennsylvania League for Nursing, given to a nurse educator who has influenced the scholarly development of nursing knowledge through creative approaches to nursing education.

Dr. Tufan Tiglioglu co-authored a paper titled Volatility of Volatility in Emerging Markets that was accepted for publication in the Journal of Money, Investment and Banking. Tufan also presented Economy’s Impact on Your Business at the annual Herbein & Co. Seminar Series. 

We are excited to welcome two new faculty members: Dr. Janet Mutschler has joined our DPT program. She has extensive clinical and teaching experience and will take over the role of Academic Coordinator of Clinical Education. Dr. Monir Morgan is a new faculty member in the Masters in Clinical Counseling program. He has 30-plus years of experience with expertise in counselor education and supervision.

> Continue to the OTHER GOOD PEOPLE section

president's newsletter march 2016

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ YouTube RSS Feed Pinterest Instagram tumblr Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+ RSS Feed