Presidents Newsletter

PEOPLE . . .

At this year’s annual President’s Dinner, Michele and Patricia Murphy, both from the Class of 1973, were recognized with The Distinguished Alumni Award. The Ellen Frei Gruber Award was presented to Theresa McCormack ‘83. Marlin & Ginger Miller were the recipients of the Franciscan Award, and this year’s Pro Urbe Award was given to Berks Catholic High School. Be sure to read about all the award recipients. 

Alvernia’s Occupational Therapy program hosted the inaugural induction of 25 students into the national honor society of Occupational Therapy – Pi Theta Epsilon. The society is a specialized honor society for occupational therapy students and alumni. The chapter recognizes both the growth of Alvernia and the quality of its students.  

Alvernia selected 21 distinguished leaders for the new President’s Advisory Council. Membership is comprised of alumni and friends of the university from the Mid-Atlantic region and beyond as well as from the local area. A diverse group professionally, the council includes current and former business executives, university presidents, and other leaders who will gather twice a year to contribute their expertise and advice on major issues facing the institution. Council members include Robert Balthaser ’91, Jerry Greiner, Mike Heimbach '88, Angel Helm, George Irish, Steve Koons '05, Jennifer Krow '03, Rachel Maher '94, Bob Miller, Kevin Murphy, Sean Murphy, Gerry Nau, Chris Pruitt, Paul Roedel, Judy Schwank, Vaughn Spencer, Doug Tiemen, Mike Toledo, Bob White '91, Colleen Woodard '68, and Tom Work.

The Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2011 was inducted last month and included Theresa Bray ’01, (cross country, field hockey, and basketball); Jeff Kantner ’89, (baseball); Eileen Pronek-Neff ’84, (tennis); and Dave Samsel ’80, (basketball). Read all about their accomplishments.  

And as this letter went to press, Men’s Soccer Coach Casey Moore was awarded coach of the year honors by his peers in the Commonwealth Conference. Congratulations to Casey and to Laura Gingrich, coach of our ECAC runner-up field hockey team.  

> Continue to the PLACES section